What can I use for proof of address/residency?
Any major bill (lights, water, telephone, tax document, etc) can be used for proof of residency/address.
Are any individuals prohibited from being licensed as a Bail Bondsman and/or Bail Bond Runner?
Yes. As stated in the North Carolina General Statute §58-71-105, the following individuals are prohibited from being licensed as a bail bondsman and/or bail bond runner:
- Deputy Sheriff
- Other law enforcement officer
- Judicial officer
- Parole officer
- Probation officer
- Assistant jailer
- Employee of the General Court of Justice
- Any public employee assigned to duties relating to the administration of the criminal justice
- Any spouse of such person
How much is the license application fee for a bail bond license?
The fees required with bail bond license applications are as follows:
- Bail Bond Runner $183.00.
- Surety Bail Bondsman $263.00.
- Professional Bail Bondsman $263.00.
How long does it take to obtain a bail bond license?
Upon receipt of a complete application, Agent Services Division will be able to review your application for licensure within a 30-45 day timeframe. The processing timeframe is contingent on the results from the national criminal record check of the applicant’s fingerprints being received in a timely manner.
Will I need to take a test to get a license?
In accordance with NC General Statute §58-71-70, you must pass the licensing examination. An exam fee of $56.50 is required at the time the examination reservation is made with the Department’s testing vendor Pearson Vue.
Does NC issue licenses to bounty hunters?
No. Bounty hunting and bail enforcement are not legal in North Carolina. Any person conducting bail bond business in the state must hold a license issued by the North Carolina Department of Insurance.
How long does it take my fingerprints to come back?
Generally it takes 45 business days if your fingerprints were rolled and 14 business days if they were sent electronically.
Where do I take my pre-licensing class?
Information on approved bail bond pre-licensing education providers is available on the Department’s website at www.ncdoi.com.
Do I have to have a supervising bondsman?
All first year licensees must have a supervising bondsman.
What do I need to do each year to ensure that my license is in force?
To keep your license in force you must comply with all of the following requirements:
- Complete three hours of continuing education each year.
- Complete the even or odd renewal requirements in accordance with North Carolina General Statute 58-71-75.
- Act in accordance with North Carolina General Statutes and the North Carolina Administrative Code.
What are the limitations of a first-year licensee?
- A first-year licensee shall only operate under the supervision of and from the official business address of a licensed supervising bail bondsman for the first 12 months of licensure.
- A first-year licensee may be employed or contracted with only one supervising bondsman and is prohibited from becoming a supervising bail bondsman during the first two years of licensure.
- If the employment contract with a first-year licensee is terminated, the supervising bail bondsman must immediately notify the Commissioner in writing, specifying the reason(s) for termination.
- If a first-year licensee is unable to become employed by or contract with a new supervising bail bondsman, the first-year licensee must submit to the Department a sworn affidavit stating the relevant facts and circumstances regarding the first-year licensee’s inability to find a new supervisor. The Department will review the affidavit and determine whether the first-year licensee bail bondsman will be allowed to operate as an unsupervised bail bondsman.
Contact Amistad & Associates today and let’s talk about how we can help you become a bail bonds agent in North Carolina.