Skip to content

6 Steps To Starting A Bail Bond Business

Becoming a bail bondsman is a wonderful career change for those who want to make a difference in the world, but also want the freedom of being their own boss. However, to begin your own bail bond business, you are going to have to take the following steps:

STEP 1: Meet North Carolina’s requirements for becoming a bail bondsman

For you to be able to qualify, you will need to meet the requirements for becoming a bail bondsman. These requirements include: having a valid NC driver’s license or NC id issued by the state and no record of any prior felony convictions.

STEP 2: Contact the North Carolina Department of Insurance for an application

By either calling them directly at 919-807-6800 or going straight to the DOI website, you can obtain the required application. Since there is only one application form used for becoming a bail bondsman, surety agent, and runner, you must specify which one you are applying for on the form.

STEP 3: Enroll into a Pre-Licensing class

While you should already have the application form, you will not be able to complete it until you have enrolled into and completed a Pre-Licensing class. In fact, you will be taught in class how to accurately complete your bail bondman application. There is also a $500 pre-licensing fee that is required to accompany your application.

STEP 4: Send in your application to the North Carolina Department of Insurance

Make sure to include the filing fee required for the bail bondsman position that you are applying for. Additionally, you will also need to include:

  • Copy of your North Carolina driver’s license or state ID
  • Copy of your Pre-Licensing Education certificate
  • Documents that prove 6 months of continuous North Carolina residency passport-sized photo
  • Set of fingerprints taken by a local law enforcement

STEP 5: Take the written North Carolina bail bondsman exam

This exam will be given through Pearson VUE and the required exam fee is $51.50. You will be required to finish the exam within a 2 hour period with a score of at least 70%. However, if you are unable to pass the exam, you will need to wait at least a year before retaking it. If you have passed your exam, you can expect your license to arrive within 7 to 10 business days.

STEP 6: Follow the instructions of your license

Once you have your license, you must post a $15,000 security deposit that will be able to cover any bond forfeitures that may happen in the future. This will also allow you to hold yourself out as a legally licensed agent or bondsman.

Here at Amistad & Associates, we a committed to your success. That is why we offer you the best resources and information available to ensure you can live your dream of becoming a licensed bail bondsman. Contact us today to learn more about how you can start your very own bail bondsman business!