The bail industry is huge, and is currently worth about $2 billion. With those kinds of numbers, becoming a bail enforcement agent can be a great way for you to earn some cash.
The journey toward becoming a bail enforcement agent in NC isn’t that difficult, either.
If you’re interested in learning how to become a bail enforcement agent in North Carolina, this guide is for you. Here’s what you need to know about starting a career in bail enforcement.
Step 1: Get Your Qualifications Right
If you want to become a bail agent in NC, you’ll need to get a license. There are a few qualifications that you’ll need to meet in order to make this happen.
For one thing, you have to be at least 21 and you have to have been an official North Carolina resident for six consecutive months or more. You also need to have the equivalent of a high school diploma.
Another qualification you’ll need to meet is to have a clean record. That means:
- Not having any bail obligations of your own
- Having no violations of Article 71 of Chapter 58 or of Article 26 of Chapter 15A of North Carolina’s General Statutes.
- Not have been disqualified by law from becoming a bail agent
- Having no felony convictions
- Having no misdemeanor drug violations in the last two years
Aside from these qualifications, you cannot currently work in any kind of law enforcement role. You’ll also have to have a valid North Carolina driver’s license.
Step 2: Take a Pre-Licensing Education Class
If you meet the qualification requirements in step one, you can move on to step two. During this phase, you’ll have to register for and complete a pre-licensing class.
The class lasts two days, and the North Carolina Bail Agents Association runs it. You can call ahead to register or even just walk into the class and sign up on the spot!
As part of your class, you’ll receive all the materials you need. Just make sure to bring your photo ID to class.
After you complete your two-day class, you’ll get a chance to take a practice test. This will award you with a preliminary license, which you’ll need in order to take the North Carolina state exam.
Just be aware that your preliminary license is only valid for six months. You’ll need to take the state exam within that timeframe if you want to avoid taking another PLE class.
Step 3: Fill Out Your Application
After you finish your preliminary class, you’ll need to submit an application to become a bail bond agent. You’ll do this by submitting an online application and required licensing fees through the North Carolina Department of Insurance.
Remember, filling out your application isn’t free. You’ll be expected to pay a couple of fees in order to get your license.
Firstly, you’ll need to pay a $263 fee to apply to be an NC bail bondsman. Then, you’ll need to pay a $48 processing fee for submitting the application online.
Keep in mind that you’ll also have to pay to take your exam. The cost of the exam in North Carolina is $51.50.
Step 4: Take the State State Exam
With your application submitted and your fees paid, it’s time to take the exam and get licensed. You can register for your exam as soon as the North Carolina Department of Insurance approves your application.
After the NCDOI approves your application, they’ll send you a letter letting you know that you can now register for your exam. You can register online or visit a registered Pearson VUE Testing Facility.
Make sure to study hard, as the state exam is quite rigorous. It will cover all the information you learned in your pre-licensing course. If you need to take a refresher before the exam, you can do so within one year of completing your PLE course.
Finally, after you take the exam, you’ll receive your score and will get your photo taken for your ID card. The NCODI gets notified by the test administrator so that they can issue your license.
Step 5: Get Your Bail Bond License
With your test finished and your license approved by the North Carolina Department of Insurance, it’s time for you to get your license! You’ll typically receive it in 10-12 business days via mail.
If you’re getting impatient, you can always track your license’s progress on the NCDOI website. That way, you can see how soon you can expect to receive your license.
After you get your license, you’ll be assigned a supervising agent. This individual will monitor your work for the first year that you operate.
Step 6: Find a Bail Bond Agency
With your license in hand, it’s time to find a bail bond agency. These teams are organizations that hire bail agents and connect them with local job opportunities.
Working with a bail bond agency is a great way to get started in the world of bail enforcement because the company gives you the tools you need. Plus, you’ll have the added support of seasoned professionals to back you up.
Launch a Career in Bail Enforcement
The bail and bond industry can be highly profitable if you start off on the right foot. And, with this guide, you’ve got all the tools you need to become a successful bail enforcement officer.
If you’re ready to start a career as a bail agent in North Carolina, give us a call. Join our team and let’s get you started on your journey toward becoming a bail bond agent.