Once you decide to pursue a particular career path, it is up to you to learn everything you can about the new role. It is the same when you choose to become a bail bondsman. You must understand what it takes to earn a bail bondsman’s license.
A bond agent’s job is to post bail for someone charged in court. It is also to ensure the person shows up for their trial.
Working as a bail bondsman can be rewarding because you get to help other people. You will also enjoy the flexible hours and the great paycheck at the end of the month.
Before you start your new career, you must get a license to operate in your state. To earn your license, there are several requirements you have to meet.
Requirements To Earn a Bondsman’s License
Here is a breakdown of what you need to become a bondsman:
Confirm you are not on the ‘Prohibited List’
Every state has its own list of people prohibited from getting a license. In North Carolina, General Statute §58-71-105 lists those prohibited individuals as:
- convicted felons
- convicted of a misdemeanor drug violation
- police officers
- judicial officers
- parole and probation officers
- public employees working in the criminal justice system
- spouses of public employees working in the criminal justice system
This prevents people with a conflict of interest from posting bail for a person charged in a court of law.
Meet the minimum qualifications
If you want to earn a bondsman’s license, you must:
- be a resident of the state, at least 6 months
- have the required age of 21 or older
- have a valid ID card or driver’s license
- have a GED or high school diploma
You will need to prove your residency status. Therefore, show your utility bill receipts, monthly or yearly financial statements, or a house lease agreement.
Take the Bondsman Training Courses and Programs
Applicants must attend pre-licensing training classes. These bail bondsman courses teach administrative, legal, and practical knowledge.
The programs take more than 20 hours. In North Carolina, it takes two days to complete the coursework. These courses cost about $500.
Submit to the Background and Fingerprint Checks
The North Carolina Department of Insurance (NCDOI) will take your fingerprints. The NC State Bureau of Investigations (SBI) will check your fingerprints on the criminal records database.
If you send the fingerprints electronically, it will take 14 days to process them. Fingerprints taken through manual rolling will need about 45 days.
Pay for the License
You can apply for a license on the NC License Management System website by paying an application fee and a processing fee.
According to the NCDOI website, Surety and Professional bail bondsmen have to pay a total of about $311. Bail bond runners pay about $231.
Due to the advancement in technology, you can pay all the fees online using your debit or credit card.
IT service management company Pearson VUE will provide the electronic licensing exam. It will cost an extra $51.50. This should be obvious, but if you don’t pass the exam, you won’t get the license.
You will have to wait for a year before retaking the exam. That should motivate you to pass the first time around.
Once they review your application, they will send you the license.
Start Working as a Bail Bondsman
A very important point to note is that you need a supervising bail bondsman. This individual will sign your application and you will work with them for a year. That’s how you will learn to be a great bail bondsman.
Fulfill the bail bondsman licensing requirements and join our team of professionals.