If you’re interested in becoming a bail bondsman in Greenville, North Carolina, but aren’t sure where to start, this is the perfect guide for you.
Bail bondsmen are people who help defendants get out of jail by paying their bond. They charge a premium and get their bail money back once that person shows up for all their court appearances on time.
In order to become a bail bondsman, there are a few things you’ll need to do.
1. Meet the Requirements
In order to become a bail bondsman in North Carolina, there are a few criteria you must meet.
- You have to be 21+
- No outstanding bail bonds
- No misdemeanor drug violations in the last 24 months
- Valid NC driver’s license or ID issued by the DMV
- No felony convictions
- A resident of NC for 6 months before applying
- Not employed as a sheriff, sheriff’s deputy, judicial attorney, attorney, parole officer, probation officer, or any public employee or law enforcement officer
These criteria vary state by state.
1. Get Educated
A bail bondsman in North Carolina is required to complete 12 hours of education from a pre-licensing education provider. The costs for these classes vary but mostly range between $400 to $600.
While you don’t need a formal education legally, many bail bondsmen do have a degree of some kind. This helps to prepare for your career and give you the base knowledge you’ll need to be successful.
2. Find a Supervisor
The Department of Insurance in North Carolina requires that, in your first year as a bail bondsman, you are supervised by a licensed bail bondsman. This supervision has to last for 12 months.
You should find and identify your supervisor before applying for licensure. If you can’t find one, you’ll have to submit a sworn affidavit to the department telling them why you couldn’t find a willing supervisor.
3. Apply for a License
Once you’ve found your supervisor and completed the PLE, you must apply for licensure. You can do this online and you’ll have to be fingerprinted and submit to a criminal background check.
- For your online application, you’ll need:
- Proof you completed your PLE course
- Driver’s license
- Electronic fingerprints through an approved vendor
- Proof of address on two documents
- Power of attorney from a licensed professional bail bondsman
- High school diploma or equivalent
Your application will be valid for six months. If your documents aren’t received, you’ll have to reapply.
4. Take the Final Exam
Before you can take the test, your application has to be filed. Once it’s received, you’ll be mailed a letter authorizing you to take the exam. You can either call or go online to schedule your examination date.
The exam is 100 questions long and you have two hours to complete it. A passing score is considered 70% or higher. If you failed the test, you’ll be able to retake it in a year after taking another PLE class and resubmitting your application.
5. Receive Your License
If you pass the exam, you will officially be a licensed bail bondsman in North Carolina. You’ll have to work under a supervisor for your initial 12 months.
Your license will expire every year on June 30th and in order to renew, you’ll need to prove that you’ve completed 3 hours of continuing education and pay the renewal fee.
After you’ve been licensed for two years, you are eligible to supervise other first-year bail bondsmen.
How to Become a Bail Bondsman
It might seem like a lot of steps to get your professional license as a bail bondsman, but it’s worth it in the end. This is a rewarding career path with a ton of opportunities to advancement, including owning your own company.
If you’re interested in learning more about becoming a bail bond agent, visit our website today.