Skip to content

A Comprehensive Guide to Starting Your Own Bail Bond Business in North Carolina

Let’s take one simple analogy. Without delivery personnel, the reputation of big-scale eCommerce firms would be at stake, and without bail bondsmen, the law and order that the entire society stands on would be crumbling down. Becoming a professional bail bondsman is no cakewalk. There are a lot of factors involved including the legalities and the crests and troughs of the bail bonding landscape. However, if you are wondering how to start a bail bonds business, here are some tips for you!

But first, analyze if the field is right for you

For one, you need to determine if you are cut out for a bail bonds business. Bail bond agents have to deal with people who are arrested for criminal offenses and on the ground level, you also have to work with them. If you are confident enough that starting a future in the bail bonds industry is perfect for you, you can start networking with the right people in the industry like law enforcement officers, attorneys, and bail bond companies to build your network down the road.

Understand the pre-licensing requirements

  • Every applicant must complete 12 hours of pre-licensing education with an approved bail bond provider.
  • They should have obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent and they must be at least 21 years old.
  • In addition, the applicant also must be a resident of the state of North Carolina for at least six consecutive months before they apply for a bail bondsman or bail bond runner license.
  • If someone is applying for bail bondsman licensing, they should hold a valid and current driving license in North Carolina or
  • The applicant should not have any outstanding bail bond obligations or any prior violations of Article 26 of Chapter 15A of the North Carolina General Statutes or of Article 71 of Chapter 58 of the North Carolina General Statutes.

Who is ineligible?

You are prohibited from obtaining a bail bond license if:

  • You have been ever convicted of a felony
  • You have been convicted of misdemeanor drug violation within the previous 2 years, or
  • You have been assigned to duties relating to the administration of criminal justice, or you have a spouse in the field of criminal justice

Take a PLE Course

The next step is going for Pre-licensing Education or a (PLE) course. All applicants who want to hold an active bail bond license must complete 12 hours of PLE with an approved PLE provider. Upon completion of the course, the PLE provider issues a certificate, and a copy of this certificate must be submitted with the application along with:

  • Residential id proof like a pay stub, utility bill, receipt of personal property taxes, or monthly or quarterly statement showing residential address.
  • Copy of high school diploma
  • GED or General Educational Development certificate copy
  • Certified copy of high school transcript

Want to get started?

Do you want to become a licensed bail bondsman in North Carolina? You can always reach out to the professionals at Amistad Bail Bonds and Associates to help you with the process. The team at Amistad Bail Bonds and Associates can help eligible aspiring bail bondsman with licensing information, documentation tools, and business support. With their immense industry expertise, aspiring bail bond agents can understand how to open a bail bonds business and run it seamlessly.